The Bird With No Wings

20170824104626da65c19352a0b50f

By Geraldine Rauscher

There once was a bird who had always been told he had no wings. So the bird would walk and walk, everywhere he would only walk. One day, as the bird was walking, he bumped into a dog.

The dog stared at the bird and said “Bird, why don’t you fly?” The bird looked at the dog and said “I have no wings.” Puzzled, the dog said nothing and the bird continued to walk.

Walking past a pond, the bird bumped into a frog. The frog stared at the bird and said “Bird, why don’t you fly?” The bird looked at the frog and said “I have no wings.” Puzzled, the frog said nothing and the bird continued to walk.

Hanging in a nearby tree was a monkey. He saw the bird early on and knew he had walked a long distance. The monkey stared at the bird and said “Bird, why don’t you fly?” The bird looked at the monkey and said “I have no wings.” Puzzled, the monkey said nothing and the bird continued to walk.

The bird later bumped into an elephant. The elephant stared at the bird and said “Bird, why don’t you fly?” The bird looked at the elephant and said “I have no wings.”

The elephant quickly responded, “But you DO have wings…you see those things on your sides, those are wings.

The bird looked at its sides and lifted up its wings. “I do? No one told me.”

“The dog didn’t tell me.”

“The frog didn’t tell me.”

“The monkey didn’t tell me.”

“Well…” said the elephant, “…fly.”

The bird stretched out his wings and flew.


  1. Listen to stories on Sound Cloud
  2. View list of stories

Leave a comment