One Flower

By Geraldine Rauscher

A: My garden has one flower.

B: Then it is not a garden.

A: My garden has one flower.

B: No it is not a garden, a garden consists of many flowers, yours only has one. It is merely a flower.

A: My garden has one flower. I water it everyday, I make sure the bugs stay away.

B: I see, I see. You take good care of it. But, it is only one, it cannot be a garden.

C: What are you all discussing?

B: A garden with one flower.

C: A garden cannot have one flower. Do you mean one flower in bloom?

A: No, I have a garden it has one flower.

C: Oh, you must be planning on planting more?

A: No.

B: Can a garden have one flower C.

C: Well, I guess…

B: No, no, no. It is just one flower.

C: Well, A is in control of her garden. If it is a garden with one flower, then it is a garden with one flower.

B: I cannot see the point in having a garden if there is only one. That is like a city with one person, an army with one soldier, a colony with one ant, a herd with only one sheep.

C: I think it will be a beautiful garden A.  A: Thank you C.

B: I don’t understand.


  1. Buy audio(s)
  2. View list of stories

Leave a comment