The Ant and the Giraffe

By Geraldine Rauscher

Ant: How high can you see?

Giraffe: Very High

A: How far can you see?

G: Very far.

A: How much can you see?

G: Too much to measure.

A: How big is the world?

G: Very big…but only because I can see high, far and much.  Your world is just as big as mine.

A: How so, I can not see high places, I can not see past obstacles…many times I can only see right in front of me.

G:Mmm…than you can see all things.

A: You are the one who sees all things…you are taller. You see past all my tiny obstacles. I am limited to what I can climb over, under and sit on top.

G: Exactly, you see obstacles where I say there is none. What is simple for me to move, is impossible for you. So you create ways, paths and opportunities around impossibilities. This is sight. I do not have this.

A: Do you wish to see as me?

G: No, I wish to be in you presence and learn.

A: If you share the great and far things you see, than I will share the tiny obstacles you do not see.

G:Agreed, it is better to add than to subtract. I will take you higher and you will bring me lower. In both cases we gain.


  1. Listen to stories on Sound Cloud
  2. View list of stories

Leave a comment